Greyhounds 24 v 12 Oxford Harlequins – Away Cup Draw on 10 Nov 2012



Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp

Following last week’s heavy loss to the Welsh Academical’s, the Greyhounds were looking for an improved performance in the this Preliminary round  match of the Oxfordshire knock-out cup. This match saw the welcome return of back-row forward Dugald Macdonald and centre Henry Hughes from injury, with fly-half Charlie Marr in the starting XV as he resumes his rehabilitation form a serious knee injury. The Hound started brightly and were looking for an early score to settle themselves down and would have done so, had Hughes pass found the mark out wide. However, soon after the frowards took things into their own hands and captain Jon Direen was driven over from a well worked 5 metre line-out, Marr added the conversion. Harlequins kept themselves in touch and then went ahead with two well struck penalties for their full-back. The Hounds then re-took the lead when fellow prop Joe Mason scooted in form 5 metres for his try since school, Marr again adding the extras. The Quins full-back added a third penalty on the stroke of half-time to make the score at the break 14 – 9 in favour of the Greyhounds.
The second half ended up a scrappy affair with both sides guilty of conceding penalties, but the Hounds were always the more dangerous side and added two more tries form centre Hughes and wing JJ Dargan, but the conversions were both missed by Marr’s replacement Sam Egerton. The Quins full-back added one more penalty to make the final score 24 points to 12 to the Hounds. Dugald Macdonald on his return picked up the Man of the Match Award and the Hounds will face Banbury in the next round on a date TBC.

Team Joe Mason, Sung Park, Jon Direen, John Nickerson, Sam Hitchings, Robert Malengreau, Sam Perrin, Dugald Macdonald, Andrew Mculla, Charlie Marr, James Dargan, Dylan Jones, Henry Hughes, Hugo Batten, Guillaume Bourda

Subs Matt Powell (on for Robert Malengreau), Samson Egerton (on for Charlie Marr)

Scores T: Joe Mason (1), Jon Direen (1), Henry Hughes (1), James Dargan (1) C: Charlie Marr (2)

Scroll to Top
Our Cookies
We use cookie technology to analyse traffic and ensure that you get the best possible experience on our website. To continue browsing our website, you must agree to our Cookie Policy.