Blues End Season with Narrow Loss in Dublin



Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Action from the 2012 OURFC v TCD match

The Blues travelled to Dublin on Saturday looking to end their 15-a-side season on a high note and reverse the narrow loss at Iffley Road in March 2012, against Trinity College. However, with the College Park pitch being unplayable due to the recent wet weather the game was moved to Blackrock College School, but the weather and small school pitch transpired to be the key factors on the day, preventing either side from being able to play any form of expansive rugby. It was Oxford who started strongly and they came close to scoring with the forwards creating good opportunities but within non converted into points, it was Trinity who grasped their opportunity when centre Ariel Robbes was put through a large hole in midfield to score a try under the posts which full-back James O’Donoghue converted. As conditions worsened, each side made numerous handling errrors which prevented any real flow to the game and there were no further scores in the first half. Both teams took a more pragmatic approach int he second half and Oxford narrowed the score to just one point with two penalties from fly-half and Captain for the day Charlie Marr (Trinity). However, Trinity then up tightened their discipline and Marr had no more kickable oppportunities to grab the lead for the Blues. For the final ten minutes Oxford pounded away at the Trinity line trying desperately to secure a winning try, but a combination of strong defence, handling errors and poor decision making saw the Irishmen hold on to secure the one point victory. After a hot shower and the usual warm hospitality offered in ‘The Pav’, the score was soon forgotten and another wonderful night in Dublin was enjoyed the squad – a fitting way to end what has been another good season for OURFC.

Team Lewis Anderson, Nick Gardner, Jon Direen, Tom Reeson-Price, Jack Calvert, James Harris, Gus Jones, Samson Egerton, Charlie Marr, Henry Hughes, Marcus Alexander Neil, Henry Lamont, Sebastian Williams, Sean Morris

Subs William Key (on for Jon Direen), John Nickerson (on for Lewis Anderson), Doug Sexton (on for Jack Calvert), Matthew Shorthose (on for Samson Egerton), Will Boardman (on for Henry Hughes), Chris O’Halloran (on for Sebastian Williams), Philip Bell (on for Marcus Alexander Neil), Daniel Barnes

Scores  P: Charlie Marr (2)

Scroll to Top
Our Cookies
We use cookie technology to analyse traffic and ensure that you get the best possible experience on our website. To continue browsing our website, you must agree to our Cookie Policy.