Major Stanley’s Match Team News



Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
The teams line-up before the 2013 match

Oxford University welcome the Major Stanley’s XV to Iffley Road on Wednesday afternoon for the 93rd annual fixture between these two sides.
Oxford will be looking to put last week’s 9-5 defeat against Worcester behind them and try and extend their nine match unbeaten run against the Major Stanley’s XV.
Traditionally it is the most public part of the Blues preparation for Varsity in December with just two matches to go after Wednesday Blues captain, Jacob Taylor, has overcome an infected thumb which ruled him out of last week’s narrow loss to Worcester. In last year’s match, the Australian full-back scored two tries to help his team overcome Major Stanley’s 40 points to 14.
Fly-half George Cullen and prop Lewis Anderson remain in the Blues starting XV, both of whom have appeared in every game so far this season and will look to cement a place in the side ahead of Varsity.
Coach, James Wade has told that he wants an all-round performance from his team on Wednesday.
“We have to be a bit more clinical and finish our chances better,” Wade said. “We had opportunities last week from the forwards who could have scored two tries but we messed them up. So I think all round we need to tidy up our play and the players must understand what mistakes they are making.”

Kick off on Wednesday is 3.30pm at Iffley Road in a game that is certainly going to be a fascinating encounter. Make sure you are there for Oxford’s penultimate home game before the 133rd Varsity Match.

The Jackdaw Lane gate will be open from 2.00pm with the Iffley Road gate open from 2.30pm  with bars open from 2.00pm. Please note that parking in the ground is strictly for permit holders only, for alternatives please vist the Contact Us section of the website.The Blues squad listed below, for the starting XV and replacements please click through the fixtures section of the website:

Lewis Anderson, George Cullen, Henry de Berker, Samson Egerton, Christopher Goodfellow, Tom Hilton-Stevens, Henry Hughes, Matt Janney, Gus Jones, Henry Lamont, Alexander Macdonald, Graeme MacGilchrist, George Messum, Sam Peter, Tom Quayle, Tom Reeson Price, James Scaife, Basil Strang, Fergus Taylor, Jacob Taylor, Will Thomas, Ralph Weir, Guy Western, Ian Williams, James Wisson

Major Stanley’s Squad:

Sam Beckett, Ignas Darkintis, Eddie Aholelei, Jon Direen, Hamist Atkinson, Ingino Corradi, Daniel Browne, Paul Spivey, Theo Vukasinovic, Luke Brown, Samir Karbouch, Dave O’Brien, Alex Bradley, Jess Liston, Ed Hoadley, Ethan Carlisle, Tom Allen, Fred Pierrepont, Sam Moorby, Giles Bromley-Martin, Kenny Fisilau, Xavier Andre, Connor Corrigan, Chris Elder, James Copsey.


Scroll to Top
Our Cookies
We use cookie technology to analyse traffic and ensure that you get the best possible experience on our website. To continue browsing our website, you must agree to our Cookie Policy.