Blues Squad To Play A Loughborough University XV



Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Action from the 2003 fixture between the two universities

Oxford University host a Loughborough University XV on Tuesday night in their last home match before the 133rd Varsity Match in December. In a late change to the fixture scheduling, the Blues face a Loughborough side for the first time in nine years and OURFC are indebted to Director of Rugby Dave Morris, for managing to pull together a mid-week side at a very busy time for the midlands university with National League and BUCS rugby to focus on.

The pressure is building on Oxford who have had a tough season so far, the Blues have now gone three games without a win. Oxford head coach James Wade will be hoping for a vastly improved performance from last week’s 26-26 draw against Major Stanley’s XV. Wade has thrown out a challenge to all the squad as he insists that any player could make it into the Varsity starting XV. “Everybody at the moment is playing for places,” Wade said. “No one has sewn down a spot yet, people are making mistakes and putting themselves under pressure and there are people behind them who are chomping at the bit so we have to get things right and pick a team to win.”

Loughborough University have been in great form in the BUCS Premier North A League and are sure to provide the Blues a tough contest. Loughborough currently sit second in their league with five wins from seven games, including an emphatic 52-0 win over Northumbria University last week.

Current Blues back row forward George Messum was last year’s Loughborough captain and he for one will be looking forward to the encounter with extra enthusiasm.

Tuesday night will be a big send-off for the Dark Blues; just 16 days until they face the Light Blues at Twickenham. Kick-off at 19:30 at Iffley Road Stadium. Please note normal parking restrictions apply.

Blues squad below, for details of the starting XV and replacements, please click through the fixtures section of the website.

George Cullen, Henry de Berker, Edward Doe, Samson Egerton, Nick Gardner, Fraser Heathcote, Henry Hughes, Dean Irvine, Matt Janney, Gus Jones, Henry Lamont, Alexander Macdonald, Graeme MacGilchrist, George Messum, Tom Reeson Price, James Scaife, Basil Strang, Fergus Taylor, Jacob Taylor, Will Thomas, Guy Western, Ian Williams, James Wisson

Scroll to Top
Our Cookies
We use cookie technology to analyse traffic and ensure that you get the best possible experience on our website. To continue browsing our website, you must agree to our Cookie Policy.