Men’s Blues Squad To Major Stanley’s XV



Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
The 2015 squads pre-match

With the 135th Varsity Match now a little over three weeks away, the Blues enter a critical period in their run up to Twickenham, starting with the traditional fixture against the invitational Major Stanley’s XV on Wednesday 16th November, kick-off 3.30pm at Iffley Road. Captain Fergus Taylor and coach James Wade are able to welcome back to the squad after injury two starting Blues from last year’s Varsity Match, scrum-half Henry de Berker and back row forward Nic-Roberts Huntley. Joining Nic on the bench will be full-back Jack Holmes who came through 40 minutes for the Greyhounds last Friday night in their cup victory over Oxford Harlequins.

The Major Stanley’s XV will this year be coached by former Scotland fly-half Gordon Ross, now part of the coaching team at Worcester Warriors and will include a number of academy players form Premiership clubs Northampton, Worcester, Wasps and Gloucester plus representatives from Richmond and Chinnor, due to OURFC’s close ties with both clubs. The invitational side will also include 2010 Oxford Blues full-back James Crozier, currently playing for Colchester RFC, who will line-up alongside his brother Tom who is fresh back from Mitre 10 Cup action with Canterbury at hooker.

Another large crowd is expected at Iffley Road so please take note of the important information below, to ensure your visit to support the Blues is an enjoyable one.

The Jackdaw Lane gate and Pavilion bar will be open from 2.00pm and the Iffley Road gate at 2.30pm. Entry is £10 for adults, £5 for concessions (over 60’s, under 18’s) and £3 for students. Please note the normal parking restrictions apply, with parking in the ground strictly for permit holders only, please visit the Contact Us section of the website for alternative places to park.

Squad in alphabetical order, for the starting XV and replacements, please click through the fixtures section of the websit

Kieran Ball, Daniel Barley, James Beaufils, George Blomfield, Ed David, Henry de Berker, Tom Dyer, Jacob Goss, Andrew Grant, Edward Hart, Alex Hogg, Jack Holmes, Henry Hughes, Hugo Lu, Jonathan Marsden, Dylan McGagh, Joseph Morris, Nicholas Roberts-Huntley, James Scaife, Tom Stileman, Basil Strang, Fergus Taylor, William Thornton, William Wilson

Following the Major Stanley’s Match, the Oxford Women’s Blues will take on 2015 BUCS Champions Gloucestershire University kick-off 6.00pm at Iffley Road, looking to do the ‘double’ over their west country rivals and with that secure their place in BUCS Premier South for another season.

Scroll to Top
Our Cookies
We use cookie technology to analyse traffic and ensure that you get the best possible experience on our website. To continue browsing our website, you must agree to our Cookie Policy.