Women’s Blues Squad Announced For BUCS Vase Final



Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp

The Women’s Blues travel to Bath University on Wednesday 22nd March to play Newcastle University in the Vase Final, kick-off 2.30pm as part of ‘BUCS Big Wednesday’ celebration of University sport. This will be the women’s Blues first appearance in any BUCS Final since the team of 2001 won the Trophy Competition at Twickenham.

The starting XV is just two short of the side that ran out at Twickenham in December in the 2016 Varsity Match, which includes 13 Blues with a further 2 on the bench. Whilst Sophie Behan was elected the new Women’s Blues Captain two weeks ago, Catherine Wilcock will continue to lead the side on Wednesday, as she has done so successfully throughout the 2016/17 season.

The match will be played on the St John’s No 2 pitch at the Sports Training Village, University of Bath, Claverton Down, Bath, BA2 7AY. The girls would very much welcome your support if you can make it down to Bath.

Starting XV:

1 Jenny Smith * (St John’s) 2 Pat Metcalfe-Jones * (Christ Church) 3 Cecilia Peker * (St John’s) 4 Leanne Robinson * (Keble) 5 Elmarie van Heerden *(Green Templeton) 6 Hester Odgers * (Lady Margaret Hall) 7 Caitlin McArdle * (Green Templeton) 8 Sophie Behan * (St Edmund Hall) 9 Carly Bliss * (St Edmund Hall) 10 Catherine Wilcock * (Wadham) Captain 11 Katarina Martinovic (St Catherine’s) 12 Heli Copley * (Keble) 13 Apphia Bunting * (New) 14 Iona Harrap (Green Templeton) 15 Sophie Trott * (Wadham)


16 Carolina Matté Gregory (Mansfield) 17 Susannah Redmayne (St Hilda’s) 18 Susy Rees (Keble) 19 Holly Gibbons (Lincoln) 20 Gemma Robson * (St Benet’s Hall) 21 Imogen Duffy * (Oriel) 22 Maria Lamont (St Anne’s)

*Denotes Blue

Scroll to Top
Our Cookies
We use cookie technology to analyse traffic and ensure that you get the best possible experience on our website. To continue browsing our website, you must agree to our Cookie Policy.