Greyhounds Squad To Face Banbury In Oxfordshire County Cup Final



Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Changing rooms ready!

The Greyhounds take on holders Banbury RFC in the Oxfordshire County Cup Final at Iffley Road on Thursday 13th April, kick-off 7.45pm in their fourth final appearance. Their most recent appearance was in 2013 when they were beaten by Chinnor Falcons, who completed an unbeaten season with their cup victory, that day. The Greyhounds made two appearances in the 1970’s; in 1976 they claimed their only cup success with an 18 points to 6 victory over the holders Oxford RFC, before narrowly  losing 9 points to 3 to Henley three years later in 1979.

Unfortunately the Greyhounds will be without their Captain and Talisman Lewis Anderson who fractured his fifth metatarsal playing for his local club side, Sidcup last Saturday and in his absence experienced second row, Graeme MacGilchrist will don the Captain’s armband. Tomorrow night’s lineup includes 13 from the squad that defeated the Cambridge LX Club by 49 points to 8 in their Varsity Match back in November, as they look to finish their season with a ‘Double’.

The Greyhounds expect to start as ‘underdogs’ – perhaps an apt title for them – as Banbury are the cup holders and have been solid performers in South West 1 East, where they currently sit sixth in the table having won 11, drawn 2 and lost 12 of their 25 league fixtures.

The gates and Pavilion bar will be open from 6.30pm, entry is £5 for adults, £3 for concessions (over 60’s, under 18’s & students) and £1 for under 12’s.

Starting XV:

1 James Calderwood (St Benet’s Hall), 2 Noah Miller (St Peter’s), 3 Ben Parker (Brasenose), 4 Graeme MacGilchrist (University) Captain, 5 Ollie Adams (Lady Margaret Hall),  6 James Beaufils (Jesus), 7 William Thornton (Lady Margaret Hall), 8 John Aaron Henry (Somerville), 9 Tom Kershaw (Worcester), 10 Tom Dyer (St Edmund Hall), 11 Daniel Barley (St Edmund Hall), 12 James Povey (St Peter’s), 13 Joshua Stickland (St Hugh’s), 14 Tom Hammond (Trinity), 15 Robbie Fraser (Corpus Christi)


16 Ben Symington (Oriel), 17 Kyle Grant (Wadham), 18 Valentine Taylor (Exeter), 19 Sebastian Haddock (St Edmund Hall), 20 Angus Livingstone (Worcester)


Scroll to Top
Our Cookies
We use cookie technology to analyse traffic and ensure that you get the best possible experience on our website. To continue browsing our website, you must agree to our Cookie Policy.