Greyhounds and Whippets Squads Announced For Varsity and Oxford Derby



Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp

On Sunday evening at Vincent’t the Greyhounds and Whippets squads were announced the 2nd Varsity Match and Oxford Derby respectively.

Following a successful Michaelmas Term the Whippets will enter the ‘Oxford Derby’ with confidence, but know full well that Oxford Brookes will bring their A game to Iffley Road on Tuesday evening, kick-off 5.00pm.

The Greyhounds travel to Cambridge looking to retain the Trophy for a further year on the back of a mixed bag of results this term, and in the knowledge that the LX Club have had a strong term and will be looking to reverse last year’s close encounter. Kick-off is 2.15pm at Grange Road.

Greyhounds v LX Club

Starting XV:

1 L Anderson * (Trinity) 2 B MacKenzie (Green Templeton) 3 J Mash (Regent’s Park) 4 W Garson (Lady Margaret Hall) 5 O Adams * (Lady Margaret Hall) 6 W Aynsley (Christ Church) 7 T Louveaux (St Peter’s) 8 S Ridgway (St Antony’s) 9 A Abraham * (Oriel) 10 L Pincott (Queen’s) 11 R Quinlan (Jesus) 12 S Fernquest (Worcester) 13 S Haddock (St Edmund Hall) 14 T Clarke (Merton) 15 J Dempsey (Corpus Christi)


16 L Wright (Trinity) 17 N Naude (Keble) 18 M Gorry (Jesus) 19 C Allen (St Edmund Hall) 20 W Barker Keble) 21 R Fraser (Corpus Christi) 22 M Dunn (Lincoln) 23 P Haughton (Balliol)

Travelling reserves:

J Kearney (St Peter’s), E Gillow (St Edmund Hall)

*Denotes Blue

Coaching Team:

Johnny Fennell, Mike Rickner, Lewis Anderson

Whippets v Oxford Brookes 2nd XV

Starting XV:

1 B Vaughan (Corpus Christi) 2 H Lees (Somerville) 3 V Tang (St Hugh’s) W Sandwell (Queen’s) 4 M Raynor-Philipson (Balliol) 5 R Green (Worcester) 6 T Stuart (Oriel) 7 J Southworth (Pembroke) 8 E Gillow (St Edmund Hall)  9 P Hensman (Balliol) 10 D Wilkinson (St Edmund Hall) 11 M Baeker (Magdalen) 12 L Butcher (Keble) 13 H Hackett (Christ Church) 14 A Shaw (Corpus Christi) 15 N Etherington (Green Templeton)


16 F Stocker (St John’s) 17 M Bowman (Somerville) 18 W Sandwell (Queen’s) 19 K Smith (Lincoln) (Magdalen)  20 B Watson (St Edmund Hall) 21 J Kearney (St Peter’s) 22 L Ignatius (Hertford) 23 J Manieson (St Peter’s)

Travelling reserves:

C Foster (St Antony’s), T Auckland (New)

Coaching Team:

Will Thornton, Conor Kearns, Pete Moore

Scroll to Top
Our Cookies
We use cookie technology to analyse traffic and ensure that you get the best possible experience on our website. To continue browsing our website, you must agree to our Cookie Policy.