Men’s Blues squad for Japan announced



Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp

Following a successful preseason week in Oxford, Captain Ed David has selected a 29 man squad to travel to Japan to contest the second edition of the World University Rugby Invitational Tournament (WURIT) – the inaugural event was hosted by OURFC in Oxford in 2015. The squad includes 17 returning Blues and only two players not involved with OURFC squads last season, both second rows – former Wasps and England Saxons representative Kearnan Myall plus former London Irish Wild Geese Captain Calum Haggett. Highlighting the benefits of running three men’s team, 12 players make the step up to the Blues squad having represented either the Greyhounds or Whippets last season.

This will be Oxford’s first visit to Japan since 2006 and the tour will kick-off on Saturday 14th September with a match against an All Mitsubishi XV at the home of the Dynoboars professional team in Samagihara, KO 11am local time. The squad will then travel east to Shibuya City where they will stay at the former 1960 Olympic Village for the duration of the WURIT. Matches in the tournament are played in two 20 minute halves, the Blues are in a pool with the Universities of Waseda, Federal Siberia and Sydney. For full details of the tournament please visit

Forwards: Ben Parker * (Brasenose), Abhijeet Oswal (St Edmund Hall), Barnaby Vaughan (Corpus Christi), Euan Friend (University),  John Aaron Henry * (Somerville), Jasper Dix * (Oriel), George Warr * (New), Kearnan Myall (Kellogg), Calum Haggett (Magdalen), Charlie Pozniak * (St Benet’s Hall), Sam Miller * (St Edmund Hall), Sven Kerneis * (St Peter’s), George Messum * (Kellogg), Ryan Jones * (St Edmund Hall), Bertie Watson (St Edmund Hall), Sam Ridgway (St Antony’s)

Backs: George Tresidder * (Harris Manchester), Jack Dalton (Keble), Tom Humberstone * (Jesus), Louis Jackson * (Oriel), Ollie Quin (Somerville), Seb Haddock (St Edmund Hall), Dan Stoller (Queen’s), Henry Hackett (Christ Church), Ed David * (St Hilda’s), Tom Stileman * (Christ Church), Henry Martin * (St Benet’s Hall), Dan Barley * (St Edmund Hall), Pete Moore (Kellogg)

*Denotes Blue

Management: James Wade (Coach), Tim Stevens (Manager), Simon Edwards (Physiotherapist), Sy Wiggall (S & C Coach/Massage Therapist)

Scroll to Top
Our Cookies
We use cookie technology to analyse traffic and ensure that you get the best possible experience on our website. To continue browsing our website, you must agree to our Cookie Policy.