Greyhounds and Whippets squads announced for Varsity and Oxford Derby



Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp

On Wednesday 4th December Iffley Road will play host to the Men’s 2nd XV Varsity Match between the OU Greyhounds and CURUFC LX Club, kick off at 2.00pm which will be followed by the ‘Oxford Derby’ between the OU Whippets and an Oxford Brookes XV at 5.00pm.

Both Oxford teams will be looking to end the term on a successful note and repeat their victories at the same time last season and retain their respective trophies. Both teams have experienced disrupted preparation this term with games canceled due to the weather and opposition teams crying off at short notice, however training has gone well in the last couple of weeks and the ‘Dogs Spirit’ will be flowing coming kick off time.

The Greyhounds will be captained by former Blue Will Thornton in the back row and the squad is strengthened by another two former Blues in Lewis Anderson and Conor Hennessy in the front row, plus former Spanish International Carlos Blanco adds experience to another wise young back line.

The Whippets will be captained by Chris Annous from full-back and include a number of Freshers who will be looking to impress ahead of next term’s Under 20’s programme.

Entry to both games is free, the Pavilion Bar will be open for the Greyhounds Varsity Match, 1.00pm to 5.00pm and then the Players Bar, aka the Drunken Ferret, will take over serving for the Oxford Derby.  Please note there is only limited parking available in the ground, so please try to make alternative arrangements if at all possible.


1 Lewis Anderson * (Trinity) 2 Josh Navarajasegaran (Merton) 3 Conor Hennessy * (St Catherine’s) 4 Piers Von Dadelszen (St Edmund Hall) 5 Calum Haggett (Magdalen) 6 Will Thornton * (Somerville) Captain 7 Tristan Louveaux (Regent’s Park) 8 Sam Ridgway (St Antony’s) 9 Rory Tegner (Pembroke) 10 David Wilkinson (St Edmund Hall) 11 Tobi Clarke (Merton) 12 Carlos Blanco # (Green Templeton) 13 Luke Butcher (Keble)  14 Peter Moore (Kellogg) 15 Louis Pincott (Queen’s)


16 Sam Green (Brasenose) 17 Abhijeet Oswal (St Edmund Hall) 18 Tom Auckland (New) 19 Will Barker (Keble) 20 Charlie Papworth (Jesus) 21 Angus White (Oriel) 22 Arran Shaw (Corpus Christi) 23 Justin Dunn (Kellogg)

* Denotes Blue, # denotes International


1 Gus Conningham (St John’s) 2 Felix Stocker (St John’s) 3 Tom Auckland (New) 4 Max Jankiewicz (Jesus) 5 Ben Rienecker (Brasenose) 6 Gabriel Standen (Kellogg) 7 Lewis Ebert (St Hilda’s) 8 Raef Murphy (St Benet’s Hall) 9 Angus Lochrane (Keble) 10 Michael Dunn (Lincoln) 11 Justin Dunn (Kellogg) 12 Arran Shaw (Corpus Christi) 13 James Stringer (Hertford) 14 James Hoddell (Brasenose) 15 Chris Annous (Lincoln) Captain


16 Sam Green (Brasenose) 17 Elijah Lee (University) 18 Jack Hughes (Exeter) 19 Ben Eastwood (St Anne’s) 20 Ruairi Clayton (University) 21 Zak Ball (Jesus) 22 Tom Barnes (St Hilda’s) 23 Jamie Abbott (Christ Church) 24 Wil Anderson (St John’s)

Scroll to Top
Our Cookies
We use cookie technology to analyse traffic and ensure that you get the best possible experience on our website. To continue browsing our website, you must agree to our Cookie Policy.