Men’s Blues squad announced for the 137th Varsity Match



Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp

On Sunday night at Vincent’s Club, Captain Ed David announced his squad to face Cambridge in the 137th Varsity Match at Twickenam on Thursday 12th December, kick off 3.00pm. He is fortunate to be able to name twelve former Blues in his starting XV with a further two on the bench, but has also been deprived of two former Blues – Sven Kerneis and Dan Barley – who suffered serious injury earlier in the term and experienced second row forward Kearnan Myall with a back injury. Ed and Head Coach James Wade recognise the significant challenge that Cambridge will offer on the day, with more than 100 International caps in the second row partnership and a number of returning Blues in Stephen Leonard’s squad, but preparations have gone well with some stern challenges in fixtures with three Premiership clubs which will hopefully stand the Dark Blues in god stead come the day.

Captain Ed David said, “You wouldn’t be doing this if it wasn’t a challenge. The best things in life are the things you work hardest for. It is a game of rugby at the end of the day and you can’t win with one or two players, you need a collective effort. We went on tour to Japan when the World Cup as on and that was a great opportunity for us to build an identity. We wanted to get people to show their desire to play for the club and those games we played against the southern hemisphere teams in the World University Invitational Tournament were very physical. We went in as underdogs, just as we will be at Twickenham, and came out with a lot of credit.”

Tickets are still available, please contact the OURFC office at or 01865 432000 to secure yours.

Starting XV:

1 Euan Friend (University) 2 John Aaron Henry * (Somerville) 3 Ben Parker * (Brasenose) 4 Jasper Dix * (Oriel) 5 Charlie Pozniak * (St Benet’s Hall) 6 Ryan Jones * (St Edmund Hall) 7 Sam Miller * (St Edmund Hall) 8 George Messum * (Kellogg) 9 George Tresidder * (Harris Manchester) 10 Tom Humberstone * (Jesus) 11 Tom Stileman * (Christ Church) 12 Louis Jackson * (Oriel) 13 Nick Greenhalgh (Keble) 14 Ed David * (St Hilda’s) Captain 15 Dan Stoller (Queen’s)


16 Louis Wright (Trinity) 17 Abhijeet Oswal (St Edmund Hall) 18 Barnaby Vaughan (Corpus Christi) 19 George Warr * (New) 20 Herbert Watson (St Edmund Hall) 21 Jack Dalton (Keble) 22 Henry Hackett (Christ Church) 23 Henry Martin * (St Benet’s Hall)

* Denotes Blue

Scroll to Top
Our Cookies
We use cookie technology to analyse traffic and ensure that you get the best possible experience on our website. To continue browsing our website, you must agree to our Cookie Policy.