Double delight for dogs teams



Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp

On Wednesday afternoon at Iffley Road, the Greyhounds extended their current winning run in the Men’s 2nd XV Varsity Match to five and at the same time made it fifteen wins in the last eighteen years. The Cambridge LX Club coaches must wonder what they have to do to secure the win in this fixture, after dominating possession and territory for the second year running, but once again the ‘Dogs Spirit’ shone through in a defensive effort they can be proud of and taking their few scoring opportunities when they came  along. By securing a 17 points to 14 win the Greyhounds maintained an unbeaten term, excluding their loss to the Blues, and will enjoy the Christmas break before they return to face local club side Bicester in a quarter-final tie of the Oxfordshire County Cup on Friday 24th January. This will be their focus in Hilary Term as the Greyhounds last won the Cup in 1976!


Lewis Anderson, Joshua Navarajasegaran, Conor Hennessy, Piers Von Dadelzen, Calum Haggett, William Thornton, Tristan Louveaux, Sam Ridgway, Rory Tegner, David Wilkinson, Tobi Clarke, Carlos Blanco, Luke Butcher, Peter Moore, Louis Pincott

Subs Abhijeet Oswal (on for Lewis Anderson), Will Barker (on for Calum Haggett), Charlie Papworth (on for Tristan Louveaux), Sam Green, Tom Auckland, Angus White, Arron Shaw, Justin Dunn

Scores T: Luke Butcher (1) Penalty try C: David Wilkinson (1) P: David Wilkinson (1)

Following the Greyhounds victory and as the sun dipped down over the stand, the Whippets hosted an Oxford Brookes XV in the ‘Oxford Derby’ looking to repeat last year’s victory and retain local bragging rights. The Whippets had suffered a disrupted term having played just four fixtures without a win, however they certainly saved their best till last as they scored four tries to one in a comprehensive performance to win by 24 points to 7, although the referee had to stop play ten minutes early as the pitch had started to freeze! Many of these players will now turn their attention to the U20’s Varsity Match in March and begin their preparations in January.


Gus Conningham, Felix Stocker , Max Janckiewicz, Ben Reinecker, Gabriel Standen, Lewis Ebert, Raef Murphy, Angus Lochrane, Michael Dunn, James Stringer, James Hoddell, Chris Annous

Subs Elijah Lee (on for Gus Conningham), Ben Eastwood (on for Max Janckiewicz), Zak Ball (on for Felix Stocker ), James Abbott (on for James Stringer), Jack Hughes

Scores T: Felix Stocker (2), James Stringer (1), James Hoddell (1) C: Angus Lochrane (2)

Scroll to Top
Our Cookies
We use cookie technology to analyse traffic and ensure that you get the best possible experience on our website. To continue browsing our website, you must agree to our Cookie Policy.