Greyhounds squad announced to face Bicester



Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp

On Friday night at Iffley Road the Greyhounds will face local club side Bicester in the quarter-final of the Oxfordshire Cup, kick-off 7.00pm. The match originally scheduled for Friday 24th January, but postponed because of a rearranged league fixture for the visitors, will be the Greyhounds first outing since their success in Varsity back in December over the Cambridge LX Club, so they may well be a little ‘under-done’ on the night.

Both clubs have a strong tradition in the competition, the Greyhounds having won the cup just once, way back in 1976 but have appeared in the final on a further three occasions, the most recent being a 17 to 12 loss to current holders Banbury in 2017. Bicester have appeared in five finals winning the cup twice in 1996 & 97, the latter being their last appearance in the final.

The Greyhounds will be lead by experienced prop Lewis Anderson playing his final season of university rugby, with two Freshers in the starting XV and a further two amongst the replacements the squad shows a mix of youth and experience, with fourteen colleges represented.

Starting XV:

1 L Anderson (Trinity) 2 L Wright (Trinity) 3 B Vaughan (Corpus Christi) 4 W Garson (Lady Margaret Hall) 5 P Von Dadalszen (St Edmund Hall) 6 W Barker (Keble) 7 A Jones (St Catherine’s) 8 S Ridgway (St Antony’s)¬†9 R Tegner (Pembroke) 10 D Wilkinson (St Edmund Hall) 11 T Clarke (Merton) 12 L Butcher (Keble) 13 L Pincott (Queen’s) 14 M Baeker (Magdalen) 15 R Quinlan (Jesus)


16 J¬†Navarajasegaran (Merton) 17 T Auckland (New) 18 R Murphy (St Benet’s Hall) 19 A Lochrane (Keble) 20 A Shaw (Corpus Christi)

Scroll to Top
Our Cookies
We use cookie technology to analyse traffic and ensure that you get the best possible experience on our website. To continue browsing our website, you must agree to our Cookie Policy.