2021 Varsity squads announced



Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp

OURFC are delighted to announce the Men’s and Women’s Blues squads for the Varsity Matches to take place on Sunday 4th July at the Mattioli Woods Welford Road Stadium home of Leicester Tigers.

Women’s Captain Fiona Kennedy has been able to select nine returning Blues plus two full international caps – Manon Johnes (Wales) & Bianca Coltellini (Italy) – in her starting XV, as the Dark Blues look for a first Varsity victory since December 2016 and take their overall tally to 20 wins.

Women’s Blues Kick-off 1pm

Starting XV:

1 Maya Mellor (Somerville) 2 Amelia Cadman (St Hugh’s) 3 Jessica Abele * (Exeter) 4 Katie Collis * (Lincoln) 5 Carla Schmidt * (New) 6 Megan Isaac (Exeter) 7 Alex Travers (Worcester) 8 Hannah Cooper * (Worcester) 9 Manon Johnes # (St Catherine’s) 10 Fiona Kennedy * (St Hilda’s) Captain 11 Helen Potts * (New) 12 Bianca Coltellini # (Keble) 13 Megan Carter * (Lincoln) 14 Maddie Hindson * (Keble) 15 Clodagh Holmes * (University)


16 Ruby James (Brasenose) 17 Ginny Gough (Regent’s Park) 18 Iris Maxfield (St Anne’s) 19 Alex Allum-Pearce (St Hugh’s) 20 Rachel Martin (Brasenose) 21 Stella Farmer (Worcester) 22 Laurel Chor (Christ Church) 23 Chloe-Marie Hawley (St Catherine’s)

Travelling reserve:

Joss Barker (Exeter)

# Denotes International * Denotes Blue

Men’s Captain George Messum will take the field alongside 12 returning Blues in his 23 man squad, which sees the inclusion of 22 times capped US Eagle Andrew Durutalo in the back row and experienced former Premiership second row Kearnan Myall on the bench. The men’s Dark Blues are looking to reverse the loss of 2019 and regain the Varsity Trophy and take their overall tally of wins to 61.

Men’s Blues Kick-off 3.30pm

Starting XV:

1 John Aaron Henry * (Somerville) 2 Will Barker (Keble) 3 Euan Friend * (University) 4 Jasper Dix * (Oriel) 5 Piers Von Dadelszen (St Edmund Hall) 6 Sam Miller * (St Edmund Hall) 7 Andrew Durutalo # (Green Templeton) 8 George Messum * (Kellogg) Captain 9 Calum Grant (St Anne’s) 10 Tom Humberstone * (Jesus) 11 Rob Quinlan (Jesus) 12 Andrew Humberstone (Wolfson) 13 Nick Greenhalgh * (Keble) 14 Louis Jackson * (Oriel) 15 Dan Stoller * (Queen’s)


16 Louis Wright * (Trinity) 17 Barnaby Vaughan * (Corpus Christi) 18 Matt Dennis-Soto # (Kellogg) 19 Kearnan Myall (Kellogg) 20 Herbert Watson * (St Edmund Hall) 21 Rory Tegner (Pembroke) 22 Henry Hackett * (Christ Church) 23 Will Wright (Linacre)

Travelling reserves:

Charlie Papworth (Jesus) Gus Coningham (St John’s) Oscar Marriott-Clarke (Magdalen)

# Denotes International * Denotes Blue

Scroll to Top
Our Cookies
We use cookie technology to analyse traffic and ensure that you get the best possible experience on our website. To continue browsing our website, you must agree to our Cookie Policy.